The Masen Group, which is responsible for piloting renewable energies in Morocco, has published a list of pre-qualified consortia as part of a tender process launched in summer 2023 to identify a private partner responsible for design, financing, construction and operation. and maintenance of the third phase of the Noor Midelt solar complex, “Noor Midelt III”. This will have a photovoltaic capacity of 400 MW, coupled with a battery capacity (BESS) of approximately 400 MWh. “This technology combination will contribute to the massive integration of renewable energies and help meet the needs of the nation’s top power system,” notes Masen in a press release.

Pre-qualified are:

  • Abu Dhabi Future Energy Company PJSC – Masdar (United Arab Emirates) / Taqa Morocco SA (Morocco)
  • Acciona Generacion Renovable SA (Spain) / Green Of Africa (Morocco)
  • ACWA Power Company (Saudi Arabia) / Nareva Holding (Morocco)
  • Cobra Instalaciones y Servicios SA (Spain) / Vinci Concessions SAS (France)
  • EDF Renewables SA (France) / Mitsui & Co., Ltd (Japan)
  • Iberdrola Renovables Internacional SAU (Spain)
  • Kahrabel FZE (United Arab Emirates) / GDF International SA (France)
  • SPIC Huanghe Hydropower Development Co., Ltd (China) / AMEA Power, Ltd (United Arab Emirates)

The Noor Midelt complex, with its three power plants Noor Midelt I, Noor Midelt II and Noor Midelt III, intends to become one of the largest solar power plants in the world with a total installed capacity of around 1.6 GW.

Created in 2010, Masen contributes to the national goal of increasing the share of renewable energy in the Kingdom’s energy mix to 52% by 2030. Its development programs therefore aim to develop an additional 6,000 MW of clean electricity generation capacity in 2030. According to according to the group’s information, 4,600 MW in wind, hydraulic and solar energy are currently in operation.

This content is copyrighted and you may not reuse it without permission. If you would like to collaborate with us and reuse our content, please contact our editorial team at the following address: